Speech and Debate Annual Banquet


Tara Zadeh, Journalist

As the weather gradually becomes warmer and the year begins to wind down, many groups on campus hold banquet or meetings to conclude the year. Each year, the speech and debate team holds a banquet to conclude various things for the year and prep a few things for the year to come.The banquet was held in the high school quad.

During the banquet, various awards are given to members on the team who have exemplifies growth and exceptional speaking skills. This year, the Model United Nations award was given to Arya Khosravi. The Olivia Allchorn award was given to Brittany Weinstock. The middle school award was given to Auriyon Khosravi. The best orator award was given to Aria Tagavi. The most improved award was given to Arjun Vij.

The banquet also included speeches from all outgoing seniors and outgoing board members. These students gave speeches reflecting their experience on speech and debate and how the team impacted their high school careers and growth as speakers.

The two teacher advisors. Ms. Mayberry and Mrs. Oblock were thanked for their contributions to the team. The team would not be possible without their time and dedication.

The banquet concluded with the announcement of next year’s speech and debate board. The board for the 2019-2020 school year will include Asher Green as president, Chloe Liu as treasurer, Thuy Pham, Arta Khosravi, Arjun Vij, and Aidan Niknafs.

The speech and debate team will begin again in the beginning of next year. An introductory meeting will be held, and all interested students are admitted onto the team, as the team is not looking for skilled speakers, but rather students looking to grow as speakers, as speaking is a skill that is developed and not always naturally given.